Circuit Court 16th Judicial Dist Division 3


505 Rutherford County Judicial Building
20 Public Square North
Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Phone: (615) 898-8074
Fax: (615) 898-8013

Welcome to Circuit Court, Division III

Serving the Citizens of Rutherford and Cannon Counties

M. Keith Siskin, Judge

- This Week in Circuit Court -

The Administrative Judge for January 23-27 is Judge Rogers (Room 208)

* * * * *

Monday 1/23:

9:00 AM:  Cannon County Chancery Docket; Cannon County Circuit Docket

Tuesday 1/24:

9:00 AM:  Circuit Motions

2:00 PM:  Circuit Pre-Trial Conference

Wednesday 1/25:

9:00 AM:  Chancery Motions

2:30 PM:  Chancery Adoption:  In Re E.L.M., et al., No. 17CV-13

Thursday 1/26:

9:00 AM:  Circuit Docket

Friday 1/27:

9:00 AM:  Circuit Docket

- Legal News & Announcements -

Chief Justice of Tennessee Supreme Court to Speak at Opening Ceremony of Rutherford County Mental Health Court:

Chief Justice Jeffery S. Bivins will be in attendance at the historic Rutherford County Courthouse on Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 3:00 PM, as the county formally launches its Mental Health Court.  The new court will be presided over by Rutherford County General Sessions Judge Barry Tidwell.

Judges, Other Local Officials Meet for "Signing of the Beam" Ceremony at Construction Site of Rutherford County Judicial Center:

On November 29, 2016, several members of the local Judiciary gathered with other local officials for a "Signing of the Beam" ceremony at the construction site of the new Rutherford County Judicial Center.  Construction is proceeding well, and our local Judges are looking forward to the completion of this wonderful, spacious new courthouse, which will alleviate the existing issues that have resulted from the county's tremendous population growth in recent years.  The new Judicial Center is scheduled to open in June of 2018.


Pictured, from left to right, are General Sessions Judge Lisa Eischeid, General Sessions Judge Barry Tidwell, General Sessions Judge Ben Hall McFarlin, Jr., Chancellor Howard Wilson, Rutherford County Mayor Ernest Burgess, District Attorney General Jennings Jones, and Circuit Court Clerk Melissa Harrell.

Artist's rendering of the future Rutherford County Judical Center, along with the final beam (signed by public officials) on the top of the building.

View from the top of the under-construction Rutherford County Judicial Center, looking South towards the Public Square in Murfreesboro.

- The Court and the Community -

Judge Siskin joined other members of the local judiciary at a breakfast honoring fallen United States soldiers.

Pictured, from left to right, are Chancellor Howard Wilson, Child Support Magistrate Diana Burns, Judge Siskin, and General Sessions Judge Barry Tidwell.

* * * * *

Judge Siskin participated in a panel of the Judiciary that answered questions about domestic relations law from Legal Aid attorneys and domestic violence advocates at the Tennessee Equal Justice University conference in Murfreesboro.

Pictured, from left to right, are DarKenya Walker (Managing Attorney, Legal Aid Society of Middle TN & the Cumberlands), Davidson County Special Master Dana Ballinger, Judge Siskin, and Davidson County General Sessions Judge Angelita Blackshear Dalton.

* * * * *

Judge Siskin gave a lecture on domestic relations law at the Tennessee Association for Justice conference in Nashville.

* * * * *

Judge Siskin received an award for recruiting new members to the Murfreesboro Downtown Barristers Lions Club.

Pictured, from left to right, are Judge Siskin and General Sessions Judge Barry Tidwell (Past Lions Club President).

* * * * *

Judge Siskin participated in the groundbreaking ceremony for the new Rutherford County Judicial Center.

Pictured, from left to right, are Circuit Judge J. Mark Rogers, General Sessions Judge Ben Hall McFarlin, Jr., Judge Siskin, Chancellor Howard Wilson, Circuit Court Clerk Melissa Harrell, and Chancery Court Clerk & Master John A.W. Bratcher.

* * * * *

Judge Siskin joined other members of the local judiciary at a luncheon to benefit victims of domestic violence.

Pictured, from left to right, are Juvenile Magistrate Adam Dodd, General Sessions Judge Ben Hall McFarlin, Jr., Child Support Magistrate Diana Burns, Juvenile Judge Donna Scott Davenport, Judge Siskin, and Circuit Judge David Bragg.

* * * * *

Judge Siskin sponsored a group of local attorneys for admission to the United States Supreme Court Bar.

Pictured, from left to right, are Bert McCarter, Travis Lampley, Judge J.S. Daniel, Sonya Wright, Barbara Marie Penland-LaFevers, Judge Siskin, Lisa Bell, Thomas Parkerson, Stan Bennett, and Kirk Catron.  Photograph taken in East Conference Room of United States Supreme Court, Washington, D.C.

* * * * *

Judge Siskin spoke to a pack of local Cub Scouts about the Court system.

- Courtroom Assignments for Judges -

The Trial Judges of the Sixteenth Judicial District hold Court in the following courtrooms:

Judge J. Mark Rogers Room 210
Chancellor Howard W. Wilson Room 306
Judge Royce Taylor Room 411
Judge David Bragg Room 419
Judge M. Keith Siskin Room 507

Please Note: The Circuit Judges regularly hear Chancery cases by interchange, and the Chancellor regularly hears Circuit cases by interchange.  Occasionally, the Judges swap courtrooms depending upon the size of their dockets.  Please check with the Clerk's Office [Chancery - (615) 898-7860; Circuit Civil - (615) 898-7820; Circuit Criminal - (615) 898-7812] to make sure you know where to go for your hearing!

For the latest docketing announcements and news from the Court: @TNCourt16JD